Migration Countdown

wordpress logo in blue
wordpress by FontAwesome is licensed under the CC BY 4.0 license

As the migration date for the DML website approaches, it is time to get serious about website design. The DML Web Team has ramped up our meeting schedule to do card sorts, discuss layout options, and cull content. I completed the Georgetown University WordPress training module. I have mixed feelings about the new WordPress Gutenberg editor. The standard content layout choices are useful and generally appealing, but the ability to customize blocks is limited. However, I am willing to allow that the design restrictions that I am encountering may have been put into place by Georgetown’s Web Services department in an effort to keep some of us content managers from going rogue with our designs. I also am having difficulty adding content to columns just the way I would like to. Hopefully, that learning curve will flatten with time and experience.

Leave a comment